Sixteen local artists and arts organizations will be recognized as winners or finalists of 2019 Ruth and James Ewing Arts Awards, judges announced Wednesday.

In all, 48 artists were nominated for the annual awards, which recognize arts excellence in the Monadnock Region, with two finalists selected for the top award in the community engagement category.

“We are thrilled with the judges’ selections,” said Terrence Williams, president and COO of The Sentinel. “It was a deep field again this year, and the panel worked hard to select some of the most amazing talent from this area.”

Finalists in the community engagement category are the Monadnock Folklore Society, based in Peterborough, and the River Gallery School of Art, based in Brattleboro, for its programming offered in this region. The winner in this category will be announced July 24 at Redfern Arts Center on the campus of Keene State College at that annual Ruth and James Ewing Arts Awards ceremony.

Winners named in the two-dimensional arts category were Yuan Pan of Keene; Leigh Niland of Brattleboro; Edward Kingsbury 3rd of Keene; and Jane Simpson of Dublin.

In the three-dimensional arts category, Julia Ferrari of Ashuelot and Erin Sweeney of Peterborough were selected.

In the presenter of the arts category, given to those who make significant contributions to bringing arts to the community, Deb McWethy and Peterborough Folk Music were the winner.

Two awards were given in performing arts: Grand Monadnock Youth Choirs of Peterborough and Ashuelot Concerts of Keene.

In the interdisciplinary arts, which includes work in several media, the winner was Amy Jenkins of Peterborough.

Peter Poanessa of Keene was awarded a Ewing Arts Award in the folk and traditional arts category for his sign works. This is a category focused on craftsmanship.

A student award was given to ConVal Regional High School student Jaclyn Clark of Francestown.

And two lifetime achievement awards were made, to Richard Hartshorne of Nelson and to Jean Nelson of Keene.

No awards were made in the literary arts category.

Judges for the Ewing Awards were Mara Williams, chief curator at the Brattleboro Museum and Art Center; Erika Radich, printmaker and past Ewing awardee; Jessica Gelter, executive director for Arts Alive!; Paul Tuller, traditional furniture maker and past awardee; Richard Whitney, painter and past awardee; Paul McMullen, artist and 2018-19 head of the art department at Keene State College; and Shannon Mayers, director of the Redfern Arts Center.

Tickets for the awards gala are available at for $35 in advance and $45 at the door. The event opens with registration starting at 5:30 p.m. in the Recital Hall at Redfern and will be followed with a reception.

The Ruth and James Ewing Arts Awards are a partnership between The Sentinel and Arts Alive! This is the fifth season for the awards.